Assignment 2 – Tutor Feedback and Reflection.

Tutor Feedback

“It’s clear that you have progressed. Your critical engagement with the assignment is excellent. Your reflective text responds well to your ideas and connects with your references and the context of archives. It’s evident that you are committed to trying to understand the wider issues of contemporary photography.

Your final submission responds to the brief. The book is appropriate as is the idea of blurred images, although, I think that there was greater potential for the idea. A further investigation and edit of the blurred archives / idea could have resulted in a more solid coherent output. However, for assignment two I feel that you are progressing really well and if you continue to apply yourself you should do well at the time of assessment.”

Obviously the first paragraph gives me great satisfaction. This is further reinforced in the detailed analysis of my  approach to research and referencing and the way in which research is linked to the final product. However, there is much work to be done in improving the final presentation of Assignment 2. Although  the comment is disappointing “There is greater potential for the idea ” I feel that I understand the dilemma and it will be worthwhile looking back and reworking both context and presentation style, using blurred images  once again. My current thoughts are to refer back to that very influential book, Invisible Cities by Italo Calvino, and to develop a modern day interpretation of the cities referred to. This is challenging as the original book, published in English in 1974, looks back to the cities of the 13th century and I am trying to bring them forward to the 21st century. Whilst reworking, I will look to improve presentation style, in particular to provide more white space around the pictures to allow them to breathe and also to add a small amount of text to try to put the pictures into context.

In addition, I am currently referring to artists recommended by my tutor for reference, Thomas Mailaender and Julian Germain and will be bringing them in at a later stage.

Personal Reflection

On reflection, the most satisfying piece of work at the stage leading up to assignment 2 was the work on the family album where I searched for original photographs in junk and antique shops and applied my artistic thoughts to them rather than scanning the internet for such information. I was able to locate the album of a nun, long deceased and this led to a detailed analysis of portraiture and group photography between 1950 and 1980.Much has changed since these days and some of the changes are already referenced within my work.

Another successful piece of work was the repetition of motif where I researched the development of advertising for Chanel No 5. This may seem a very restricted subject but on further investigation the subject matter which I had to consider was vast.

The third exercise – Mishka Henner’s No Man’s Land –  is a subject in which I have been interested since visiting his exhibition at the Photographer’s Gallery several years ago. The exercise gave me time to look at a living artist’s work in detail, an indulgence which only comes when there is a specific project to pursue.

My disappointment is that these three successful pieces of work did not lead up to an assignment of the same standard, something which I am determined to correct before I move on.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

