A Gap in the Workflow

Assignment 2 was submitted in mid September 2016 and I have been trying since then to get to grips with the build up to Exercise 3.1, “Towards a Hyperphotography”. The subject is fascinating and I have done a lot of background reading but cannot get a flow  going to put anything on paper. In the meantime I have been spending some time on landscape photography and have visited exhibitions at the Tate Modern and Manchester City Art Gallery. I have attended meetings of the RPS Digital Imaging Group and worked with friends photographing Manchester with the aim of finding a single picture which defines Manchester. This was inspired originally by the  Scott Kelby annual walk around Manchester in November.

So when I write all that down I don’t feel so bad and I am expecting some of this work to give the inspiration for some of the future exercises.

During the landscape exercise I visited three sites:

  • The Roaches
  • Kinder Scout
  • Magpie Mine

All in the Derbyshire and Staffordshire area.

What evolved was my interest in people and the selection of pictures that I ended up with all contained people. I experimented with colour, black and white and sepia tones and when ready to print on the Epson Stylus Photo R3000, discovered that the printer had broken down and could not allow ink flow of the photo black. The portraits taken at Magpie mine looked like this:

20161229-004b

After many attempts to get the printer working, I sent the pictures to the lab to have them processed correctly and the results were like this:

20161031-012a20161031-064a20161031-093b

I must admit that I prefer the first take and this stimulated me to consider the need to always look out for alternative ways of presenting an idea, much as Schmid and Kessels do in their work today.. It is a matter of keeping an open mind at all times.

The book which led me to consider what to do with failures is “Failed It” by Erik Kessels. “How to turn mistakes into ideas and other advice for successfully screwing up”.

Chapter headings include:

  • Celebrate the illogical
  • Triumph of the amateur
  • Attack of the giant finger
  • When a view is flawless, interrupt it
  • Redesign your imagination
  • Dare to be disliked

Other Kessels quotations include “Look for a new way of thinking”, “There is a gap between what you want and what you achieve”, “You need to make a fool of yourself”, “Photography is too serious and needs to be lightened up”.

It is a very easy book to read and can be used as a reference book when in need of escaping from under that black cloud.

Another book leading on from the set book by Fred Ritchin “After Photography” is his latest book, “Bending the Frame” Both these, rather more serious than the Erik Kessels book, have been a great inspiration to me.

There is also a very good interview on you tube with both Kessels and Ritchin sitting side by side showing tremendous mutual respect. These people inspire each other.

So having got that off my chest, I will do a review of the Exhibition at Manchester City Art Gallery, rework assignment 2 and then move onto the work leading up to assignment 3.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

